What next?

Home Forums TSP General Discussion What next?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    David Kopacz
    Participant

I am new to star parties. I attended my first one a few months ago at the Okie-Tex and had a great time.

At Okie-Tex, I arrived early with my SUV and trailer and picked a spot, setup and and made my telescope and trailer location my camp. I just slept on a cot in my trailer.

For TSP, I decided to opt for a bunkhouse, but now I am wondering if that was the best option. I suspect it will be more comfortable than a cot in my trailer, but now I think it unlikely I will be right near my equipment.

My question is simple. Where would I setup my equipment, trailer and park my SUV all together like Okie-Tex? Would my gear be near the bunkhouse or will it be located some distance away? I really need my gear and trailer together as all my accessories are in the trailer. Is that possible ata TSP? I would be a little concerned not being close to my equipment.

I have been to the prude ranch once, and I know where one observing field is located just below the cabins. I stayed with my family in one of the cabins on my cisit there. I am not sure where the bunkhousze is located. I do know where the amatuer radio station is located. I am a well known international contester. My call sign is KY1V and I am the founder of the Young Ham Contests Program and the 6Y1V contest super station in Jamaica.

Alternatively, I could setup my gear near my friends gear, he is coming with an RV.

Could you please explain how this process works?

I am really looking forward to my first TSP and exhibiting my new ASA system!

DAVID CLARK
    Keymaster

Regarding your question about where to set up, while staying in one of the bunkhouses.

First, check on the Prude Ranch map at:
    https://texasstarparty.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/tspmap1.jpg

You can see the location of the 3 observing fields (that have power available for telescopes.